Name of memorial: Belfast & Co. Down Railway Great War Memorial

Place: Belfast: Lanyon Place Station

Address and map reference: Lanyon Place Station, East Bridge Street, Belfast.

Map reference: J 346 739 (Sheet 15). Co-ordinates: N 54.5956°; W 5.9173°.

Access: all day Parking: in adjacent car park Disabled access: yes.

Position: on right-hand wall of the entrance hall

Description and dimensions: brass plaque in copper frame. Height: appx. 130 cms, width appx. 85cms.

Recorded by: Michael Pegum, 2 August, 2012

Text:

1914 (COAT OF ARMS OF THE RAILWAY COMPANY) 1919
In honour of the members of the Staff
who volunteered and served in
His Majesty's Forces during the Great War.

Those who made the supreme sacrifice

Austin, Edgar Hynes, Michael Black, William Johns, John Brown, John Keatings, John Eiken, Robert McKibbin, Frederick Fulton, John M. McLean, John B. Gallagher, Robert Malcolm, William Gilmore, James Potter, William J, Gregg, David Stewart, Robert

Those who served

McClean, Thomas Preston, Thomas Arni, Charles A. Forsythe, Robert J. Foulis, Robert Bailie, Arthur McCleery, William Rea, Hugh Bailie, Thomas Fulton, Samuel McCleere, Samuel V. Reid, John Ball, William H. Galbraith, David McConnell, William Roaney, Samuel W. Bates, Francis N. Gillespie, Joseph McCracken, Richard Roberts, Edward Girvan, Alexander Beattie, David McDowell, Samuel Robinson, George Bell, William Girvan, Thomas McGimpsey, James Scott, William J. Black, Alexander Gordon, James McGrattan, David Shannon, J. Gourley, Thomas Black, Robert McIlwaine, Francis Shannon, William J. Graham, John Bould, Samuel McKee, William Sherlock, David J. Green, Joseph Brown, Robert M. McKenna, James Shields, George Brown, Thomas Holland, Frederick A. McKissick, John Simpson, William Campbell, George Houston, John S. McNeill, T. Sinclair, Robert Carlisle, James Hughes, Gerald McPeake, Herbert Small, John Innis, George W. Carlisle, John K. Smeltzer, William F. Maitland, Samuel Carr, John Ireland, Michael Malcolm, Robert H. Smith, John Clarke, James Johnston, Frank Marsh, Thomas Smith, William Clegg, Matthew Spiers, Samual Johnston, William J. Marshall, John

Craig, Benjamim
Creighton, Henry
Cumming, Alexander
Davidson, Robert
Davidson, Robert W.
De Clifford, John
Dempster, Henry
Devlin, John J.
Donaldson, Robert
Duffield, Thomas
Duncan, Lowry S.
Dunseath, Hugh
Emmett, Herbert
Ewart, James
Ferguson, David J.

Jones, Charles H.
Killen, William
Kirk, James
Labron, Robert F.
Lappin, William
Law, Robert
Lennon, James
Lennon, Thomas
Lennox, Andrew
Locke, William J.
McAvoy, John
McCarroll, William
McCaughan, James
McCauley, William F.
McClean, James

Maxwell, Robert D. P.
Midwinter, Albert
Milliken, William
Moore, Thomas A.
Morrison, Rainey
Nelson, Thomas
Newburn, Thomas
Oliver, William G.
Owens, Andrew
Owens, Robert
Owens, Thomas
Parker, Robert
Patton, John
Pilson, James
Potter, William

Steenson, Thomas Stratton, Samuel Stretton, Albert Tedford, Albert Thompson, John Vance, William J. Ward, Hamilton Ward, Samuel Watson, James R. Wickie, Abraham Willix, David Wilson, George A. C. Wilson, John

Woods, David

Wylie, John

Erected by the Belfast & County Down Railway Company.