**Inventory No. 1159** 

Name of memorial: R.M.S. Leinster Memorial

Place: General Post Office, O'Connell Street

Address and map reference: G.P.O., O'Connell Street, Dublin 1

Map reference: O 159 346 (Sheet 50) Co-ordinates: N 53.3494°; W 6.2601°.

Access: during office hours. Parking: none nearby. Disabled access: yes.

**Position:** on the inner side of the front wall, beside a door.

**Description and dimensions:** bronze plaque on wood.

Height: appx. 60cms. Width: appx. 52cms.

Recorded by: Brian Smith, 28 February, 2019.

Text:

## R.M.S. LEINSTER

This plaque is erected in memory of the twenty one Dublin Post Office staff who died when the mail boat *Leinster* was torpedoed en route from Dun Laoghaire to Holyhead on the tenth of October 1918. The men were among over five hundred civilians, soldiers and sailors who lost their lives in one of Ireland's greatest maritime disasters.

Charles Archer John Ledwidge Albert McDonnell Jennins Attwooll James Blake William Maxwell Tom Bolster Patrick Murphy Joseph Bradley William Pasker Mathew Brophy Richard Patterson Peter Daly Joseph Robinson Adam Smyth John Dewar William Wakefield John Dolan James Warbrook Patrick Forbes Michael Hogan

> An Post June 2010

## **Books:**

'Torpedoed!: The R.M.S. Leinster Disaster', by Philip Lecane.

Penzance, Periscope, 2005. ISBN 1-904381-29-4.

'Women and Children of the R.M.S. Leinster: Restored to History', by Philip Lecane. Elm Books, 2018. ISBN 978-0-9931989-4-6

'Death in the Irish Sea: The Sinking of the R.M.S. Leinster', by Roy Stokes. Cork, Collins, 1998. ISBN 1-898256-52-7.

'RMS Leinster: The Forgotten Tragedy', by Carmel Uí Cheallaigh. Elm Books, 2018. ISBN 978-0-9931989-5-3

**Note.** A similar plaque, with slight differences in spelling of some names, is in the Post Office, Dún Laoghaire, Co. Dublin.