Name of memorial: R.M.S. Leinster Memorial Inventory No. 997

Place: Dun Laoghaire Post Office

Address and map reference: Post Office, 100, George's Street Upper, Dún Laoghaire, Co. Dublin

Map reference: O 244 283 (Sheet 50) Co-ordinates: N 53.2915°; W 6.1340°.

Access: during office hours. Parking: none adjacent. Disabled access: yes.

Position: inside, between windows on front wall.

Description and dimensions: brass plaque. Height: appx.. 40 cms. Width: appx. 40 cms.

Recorded by: Brian Smith, 25 October, 2016.

Text:

R.M.S. LEINSTER

This plaque is erected in memory of the twenty one Dublin Post Office staff who died when the mail boat *Leinster* was torpedoed en route from Dun Laoghaire to Holyhead on the tenth of October 1918. The men were among the five hundred and one civilians, soldiers and sailors who lost their lives in one of Ireland's greatest maritime disasters.

Charles Archer John Ledwidge Jennings Attwooll Albert MacDonnell James Blake William Maxwell Tom Bolster Patrick Murphy Joseph Bradley William Pasker Richard Patterson Matthew Brophy Peter Daly Joseph Robinson John Dewar Adam Smyth

John Dolan William Wakefield Patrick Forbes James Warbrook

Michael Hogan

An Post October 2003

Book: All are mentioned in 'Torpedoed! The R.M.S. Leinster Disaster', by Philip Lecane (Penzance, Periscope, 2005).